Alice Springs Hockey Association's National Champion Representative Players

Australian Representatives

Phyenea Clarke

Paige Walling

Angela Schilling


Donna Lee Patrick - Player with the Hockeyroos 2001-2007

Career Tournaments Played

Invitational representing Alice Springs U13's in Mt Isa in 1994
Various NT/SA State Teams U16, U18, U21 and Australian Hockey League

Junior World Cup in 2001

Korean Telecom Cup 2001
(first game for Australia)

Olympic Qualifiers in New Zealand 2007

Numerous test in New Zealand

Champions Trophy in Argentina 2007

World Cup in Spain 2006

Donna-Lee PatrickDonna-Lee Patrick


Under 15 men's national champions

Dash Hewett

Cameron Finlay

Miebaka Dede

Daniel Versteegh


Primary school boy's national champions

Stephen Versteegh (captain)

Casy Hiscox

Noel Murtagh


Bill Van Dyke was a great ambassador for Hockey all over the world and lately in Alice Springs.

He commenced his hockey career in 1953 as a player for "Lipward" in the Netherlands while he was completing Physical Education studies. In 1961 Bill moved to New Zealand and was appointed as the manager coach of the U21 colts. Bill also obtained his NZ Umpire status during this time. In 1964 he umpired at National Championships, he also looked after 3 x NZ teams and travelled widely with them.

In 1969 he moved to Victoria Australia where he was given his Victorian umpires badge as well as remaining involved in the coaching side of things.

In 1974 Bill moved to Alice Springs where he coached Men's and Women's teams, umpired, arranged school exchange hockey competitions while holding various positions on the ASHA Executive Committee.

From1984 to 1990 Bill was transferred to Tennant Creek Primary School and a Hockey sabbatical was forced upon him. Except in 1989 when he was in Gove for 1 year where he immediately got involved in Hockey. On his return to Alice Springs in 1994 Rotary snaffled him but he remained patron of ASHA.

In 2002 the 50th Anniversary of Alice Springs Hockey, Bill became heavily involved in hockey again especially in administration side, which he has been working on ever since. In the last 8 years Bill has organised 4 Alice Springs Masters Games Tournaments. Has been Senior Vice President of NTHA and President of ASHA. He also took a U21 side to National Championships. Bill was the Hockey representative on the sports facility advisory committee of the Alice Springs Town Council (ASTC) for the last 10 years (2010).

Bill has received many awards and recognition for his commitment and dedication to Hockey in the Northern Territory. Including:
1994 - ASHA Life Member
2001 - Commonwealth recognition awards for senior Australians
2007 - Volunteer of the Year
2010 - Named as one of the 40 Desert Sports significant sports personalities
2010 - Certificate of Appreciation from the ASTC, in recognition of his outstanding contribution to Hockey and the Alice Springs Sporting Community. Which was presented by Mayor Damien Ryan during ASMG.

You are using Internet Explorer version 6.0 or lower, which is outdated. Due to security issues, and lack of support of web standards, it is highly recommended that you upgrade to a modern browser. Upgrading is free. click here to update.